Officers of the Foundation

Finance and Fundraising

Donald D. Brown

Staff Member and Director Emeritus, Department of Embryology Carnegie Institution of Washington

Douglas E. Koshland

Professor, Molecular Biology and Genetics
University of California- Berkeley

Daniel Gottschling

Principal Investigator
Calico Life Sciences

Christine Pratt

Treasurer and Administrator, LSRF

Application and Peer Review

James Broach

Professor and Chair, Biochemistry The Huck Institutes of the Life Sciences, Penn State University

Thomas Silhavy

Warner-Lambert Parke-Davis Professor of Molecular Biology
Princeton University

Susan DiRenzo

Assistant Director, LSRF Application and Peer Review

The Advisory Board of Trustees

Peter Agre

Director, Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute
Professor, Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Bruce Alberts

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
University of California, San Francisco
President Emeritus, National Academy of Sciences

Richard Axel

Professor, Department of Neuroscience
Columbia University Medical Center
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

David Baltimore

California Institute of Technology

Paul Berg

Director Emeritus, Beckman Center
Stanford University School of Medicine

Michael S. Brown

Paul J. Thomas Professor of Genetics
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Thomas Cech

Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Colorado, Boulder
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

James E. Darnell, Jr.

Vincent Astor Professor
Head, Laboratory of Molecular Cell Biology
The Rockefeller University

Mark Fishman

Novartis Institute for Biomedical Research

Elaine Fuchs

Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor, Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development
Rockefeller University
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

David V. Goeddel

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
NGM Biopharmaceuticals

Joseph L. Goldstein


Regental Professor, Julie and Louis A. Beecherl Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science and Chairman, Department of Molecular Genetics The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

H. Robert Horvitz

David H. Koch Professor, Department of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Steven L. McKnight

Professor and Chairman, Department of Biochemistry The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Ira Mellman

Vice President, Research Oncology

Jasper Rine

Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
University of California, Berkeley
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor

Mark B. Roth

Member, Basic Sciences
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center 
Adjunct Professor, Department of Biochemistry
University of Washington

William Rutter

Chairman Emeritus
Chiron Corporation

Phillip A. Sharp

McGovern Institute
Head, Department of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Solomon H. Snyder

Director, Neuroscience Department
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Marc Tessier-Lavigne

President, Rockefeller University
Carson Family Professor
Laboratory of Brain Development and Repair

Shirley M. Tilghman

President Emerita of Princeton University

Robert Tjian

President, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Harold Varmus

Senior Advisor to the Dean and Provost and Professor
Meyer Cancer Center and New York Genome Center
Weill Cornell Medical College

Susan Wessler

University of California President’s Chair
Department of Botany and Plant Sciences
University of California, Riverside